Obscene Thoughts is an Amazon best seller and winner of the Foreword Reviews IndieFab Bronze Award (Psychology, Adult Nonfiction) at the 2014 American Library Association Annual Conference.
Obscene Thoughts: A Pornographer's Perspective on Sex, Love, and Dating
by Dave Pounder (Author), W.B. King (Editor), John Marshall Townsend (Introduction)

Obscene Thoughts: A Pornographer's Perspective on Sex, Love, and Dating examines progressive, intellectual and academic constructs regarding mate selection, sexual behavior and the reasons why people cheat. Obscene Thoughts investigates and deconstructs core socioeconomic and biological values and the sexual behaviors of men and women, in a fresh, distinct manner.

"An iconoclastic, argument-starting take on the battle of the sexes." 

Kirkus Reviews

"It strips away the thin veneer of civilization and knocks humanity off the top rung of the evolutionary ladder." 

~ Lee Gooden, Clarion Review
Editorial Reviews
Kirkus Review:
A director and producer of pornography offers his thoughts on subjects ranging from dating to marriage to career management. Contrary to the title of Pounder’s brisk, enjoyable dissertation on the ways of love and lust, there are no truly obscene thoughts here; instead, using a variety of devices—from the boardroom-speak of business manuals to an analysis of the films of Julia Roberts—Pounder analyzes the often hypocritical ways Western society views sexual relations between men and women. He notes, for instance, that a man who walked into a bar and asked the nearest attractive woman to have sex with him would be “slapped or publicly harangued as a pervert”—which strikes Pounder as irrational, since “sex, assuming the normal types of protection, is a far more healthy form of interaction than the consumption of alcohol and tobacco, but our society condemns the former and embraces the latter.” Pounder’s prose is clear and engaging throughout, and his frequently irreverent ideas about “inconsistent society norms” are not only incendiary but thought-provoking. Sometimes he oversteps, as when he claims, “Denying that the majority of men cheat is tantamount to denying that the majority of drivers speed,” but even those excesses make for interesting reading. An iconoclastic, argument-starting take on the battle of the sexes. - Kirkus Reviews

Clarion Review:
Five Stars (out of Five) Sorry, ladies, says pornographer; men are just natural cheaters. Men are “hard-wired” to cheat on women sexually, says pornographer Dave Pounder, who explains why in Obscene Thoughts. Pounder says that evolutionary biology teaches us that the hunter-gatherer ancestors of modern man had sex with as many women as possible to propagate the species—an impetus still alive in men today. Because of this, women need to accept that it is instinctive for men to seek multiple sexual partners, even when they’re in a supposedly monogamous relationship. This potentially controversial stance also provides much food for thought. Pounder uses unorthodox, but logical, analogies that push buttons and also show humor amid his explicit teaching techniques. Pounder applies his expertise in economics and his insider’s understanding of the porn industry to all elements of male and female relations. This includes long-term domestic partnerships and marriage. Where it might be easy to slip into a callous and jaded tone, Pounder comes across as realistic and pragmatic. That said, some readers might take offense at his casual attitude and seemingly immoral positions. Pounder addresses this with a quote from Freakonomics, a book by Steven Levitt and Stephen Dubner: “Morality represents the way that people would like the world to work—whereas economics represents how it actually does work.” Readers who enjoy Steven Pinker’s The Better Angels of Our Nature and Jared Diamond’s The World Until Yesterday will be enthralled by Obscene Thoughts. It strips away the thin veneer of civilization and knocks humanity off the top rung of the evolutionary ladder. Sex, once again, becomes all about fecundity and continuing the species. – Lee Gooden (ForeWord Clarion Reviews)

Editorial Reviews
Kirkus Review:
A director and producer of pornography offers his thoughts on subjects ranging from dating to marriage to career management. Contrary to the title of Pounder’s brisk, enjoyable dissertation on the ways of love and lust, there are no truly obscene thoughts here; instead, using a variety of devices—from the boardroom-speak of business manuals to an analysis of the films of Julia Roberts—Pounder analyzes the often hypocritical ways Western society views sexual relations between men and women. He notes, for instance, that a man who walked into a bar and asked the nearest attractive woman to have sex with him would be “slapped or publicly harangued as a pervert”—which strikes Pounder as irrational, since “sex, assuming the normal types of protection, is a far more healthy form of interaction than the consumption of alcohol and tobacco, but our society condemns the former and embraces the latter.” Pounder’s prose is clear and engaging throughout, and his frequently irreverent ideas about “inconsistent society norms” are not only incendiary but thought-provoking. Sometimes he oversteps, as when he claims, “Denying that the majority of men cheat is tantamount to denying that the majority of drivers speed,” but even those excesses make for interesting reading. An iconoclastic, argument-starting take on the battle of the sexes. - Kirkus Reviews

Clarion Review:
Five Stars (out of Five) Sorry, ladies, says pornographer; men are just natural cheaters. Men are “hard-wired” to cheat on women sexually, says pornographer Dave Pounder, who explains why in Obscene Thoughts. Pounder says that evolutionary biology teaches us that the hunter-gatherer ancestors of modern man had sex with as many women as possible to propagate the species—an impetus still alive in men today. Because of this, women need to accept that it is instinctive for men to seek multiple sexual partners, even when they’re in a supposedly monogamous relationship. This potentially controversial stance also provides much food for thought. Pounder uses unorthodox, but logical, analogies that push buttons and also show humor amid his explicit teaching techniques. Pounder applies his expertise in economics and his insider’s understanding of the porn industry to all elements of male and female relations. This includes long-term domestic partnerships and marriage. Where it might be easy to slip into a callous and jaded tone, Pounder comes across as realistic and pragmatic. That said, some readers might take offense at his casual attitude and seemingly immoral positions. Pounder addresses this with a quote from Freakonomics, a book by Steven Levitt and Stephen Dubner: “Morality represents the way that people would like the world to work—whereas economics represents how it actually does work.” Readers who enjoy Steven Pinker’s The Better Angels of Our Nature and Jared Diamond’s The World Until Yesterday will be enthralled by Obscene Thoughts. It strips away the thin veneer of civilization and knocks humanity off the top rung of the evolutionary ladder. Sex, once again, becomes all about fecundity and continuing the species. – Lee Gooden (ForeWord Clarion Reviews)
A director and producer of pornography offers his thoughts on subjects ranging from dating to marriage to career management. Contrary to the title of Pounder’s brisk, enjoyable dissertation on the ways of love and lust, there are no truly obscene thoughts here; instead, using a variety of devices—from the boardroom-speak of business manuals to an analysis of the films of Julia Roberts—Pounder analyzes the often hypocritical ways Western society views sexual relations between men and women. He notes, for instance, that a man who walked into a bar and asked the nearest attractive woman to have sex with him would be “slapped or publicly harangued as a pervert”—which strikes Pounder as irrational, since “sex, assuming the normal types of protection, is a far more healthy form of interaction than the consumption of alcohol and tobacco, but our society condemns the former and embraces the latter.” Pounder’s prose is clear and engaging throughout, and his frequently irreverent ideas about “inconsistent society norms” are not only incendiary but thought-provoking. Sometimes he oversteps, as when he claims, “Denying that the majority of men cheat is tantamount to denying that the majority of drivers speed,” but even those excesses make for interesting reading. An iconoclastic, argument-starting take on the battle of the sexes. - Kirkus Revie

“Pounder’s insights from the trenches of the sex industry constitute a useful addition to the rapidly growing literature on the psychology of human mating, opening up a new window on the divergent sexual strategies of men and women.” 


~ Dr. Ogi Ogas, computational neuroscientist and author of “A Billion Wicked Thoughts”



“Throw out all your preconceived ideas of the porn industry; take a deep breath, open the cover and take the plunge. Pounder’s book is nothing like you’d expect, artfully blending biography and commentary with a lesson or two on psychology, sociobiology, and even basic economics.” 


Steffanie Strathdee, Ph.D., Associate Dean of Global Health Sciences, University of California, San Diego School of Medicine


Kindle: $7.95
Paperback: $19.95
Buy Now $19.95
Audio Book: $17.95
About the Author
Biography:
Esteemed pornographer Dave Pounder has produced, directed, and performed in adult films for over a decade, with over one hundred titles to his credit. He holds a bachelors degree in finance from Michigan State University and a masters degree in information management from Arizona State University. He has studied media economics and human sexuality at Indiana University and was accepted into the doctoral program at Concordia University, in Montreal, to study the mainstream consumption of pornography under the tutelage of evolutionary psychologist Dr. Gad Saad. Pounder has lectured on the topic of adult entertainment at several policy and academic institutions, including Indiana University, UCLA, and Emory University. He currently lives in Boca Raton, Florida.
Product Details
Paperback: 342 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (June 13, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1479203068
ISBN-13: 978-1479203062
Product Dimensions: 8.5 x 5.5 x 0.7 inches
Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
Paperback: 342 pages
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (June 13, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1479203068
ISBN-13: 978-1479203062
ASIN (Kindle): B00E88HIG4
ASIN (Audiobook): B00FWFM7OU
Product Dimensions: 8.5 x 5.5 x 0.7 inches
Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds
Amazon Best Seller Statistics:
Amazon Best Seller Rank (Week of July 10, 2015)